past award presentations


past award presentations

Rees Llewellyn Presentation 2018

Rees Llewellyn Presentation 2018

The Rees Llewellyn Scholarship 2018 was held at Coleg y Cynoe4dd, Aberdare Campus.

This year there were 35 lucky pupils eligible to received the £200 grants towards their University costs.


St John Baptist

George Lewis, Kieron Jones, Georgia Regis, Hannah Rees, Iwan Davies, Eve Thomas, Kojo Terrile, David Anthony, Owain Edwards, Rhiannon Egglestone, Lucy James

Aberdare Community School

Josh Swift, Owen Waghorn, Rebecca Adams, Will Pan, Stephanie Pugh, Kyle Thompson, Lauren Davies, Dylan Lucas, Rebecca Morgan, Samuel Rossi, Luke Evans, Abbie, Evans, Sian Russell, Megan Williams, Shannon Williams, Thomas Lock

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun

Ffion Loring, Rhys Gardner, Josie Prosser.

Coley Y Cymoedd

Michael Young, Joshua Williams, Zacahary Nicholas, Ben Phillips, Luke Waddingham

A big thank you to Vikki Howells, the Cynon Valley Welsh Assembly Member, who presented the pupils with their cheques.

Members of the charity who attended the presentation were, Mr Ian Blake, Father Robert Davies, Dr Sue Mitchell, Mrs Lisa Williams, Mr Keith Butler, Mr Mark Thomas and Mrs Andrea Iles


Rees Llewellyn Scholarship 2017 was held at Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun on 15th December 2017.

This year there was 20 pupils from St John Baptist CiW High School, Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun and Aberdare Community School who were lucky to qualify for the £200 grant towards their University studies. 

St John Baptist CiW High School Pupils:

Amelia Morgan-Gumm,  Ben Hardcastle,  Daisy Bateman,  Olivia Makin,  Sian Miles and Tomos Walters                          

Aberdare Comminity School Pupils:

Jasmine Ashley,  Rhys Carter,  Caitlin Evans,  Ethan Horton,  Connor Mackey,  Jessica Morgan,  Aimee Sullivan,  Chloe Talbot, 

Ellie Thomas,  Kieran Thomas and Harry Williams

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun Pupils:

Demi John,  Charlotte Morris and Molly Sedgemore


Also present at the presentation were Ian Blake (Chairman),  Father Roberts (Trustee), Lisa Williams (Trustee), Mark Powell(Trustee), Ceri Loveridge (standing in for Dr Sue Mitchell), Andrea Iles (Adminstrator)


Contact Us

December 2016. The Rees Llewellyn presentation was held at Aberdare Community School.  28 pupils, from around the Cynon Valley area, were eligible to receive the £200 grant.  16 pupils were able to attend the presentation to receive their cheque from Mr Ian Blake, the Chairman of the trust.

Also present were Mr Alan Maddox, Mr Keith Butler, Mrs Lisa Williams and Mr Alun  Lewis, who was standing in for Dr Sue Mitchell.

Mr Chris Lovell, Head of Sixth form at Aberdare Community School, was there to welcome all the guests.

December 2016 Rhys Llewellyn Presentation

December 2016 Rhys Llewellyn Presentation

The pupils eligible for the grant were:

St John Baptist CiW High School

Ffion Davies, Katrin Davies, Libby Davies, Rhiannon Davies, Scott Edwards, Kate Hotler-Williams, Jamaela John, Rhys Johnsons, Gareth Jones, Jacob Jones, Joe Murphy, Naomi Price, Ben Thomas and Anna Dally.

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun

Sophie Davies, Megan Price, Katie Rivers, Emilia Stevenson, Megan Williams and Honor Broadstock

Aberdare Community School

Ellys Panniers, Jessica Carroll, Nicholas Evans, Shannon Meyler, Alex Oakley, Aimee Reynolds, Callum Smith and Sophie Smith

January  2016 Presentation at St John Baptist CiW High School

January 2016 Presentation at St John Baptist CiW High School


32 students from the Cynon Valley have been rewarded for their academic achievement in their 'A' levels with a grant of £200 from the Rees Llewellyn Scholarship Fund.

The students achieved UCAS points of 320 or more.  7 students were able to attend the presentation to receive their grant, which was held at St John Baptist CiW High School in Aberdare.

They, along with their guests, were welcomed to the presentation by Dr Sue Mitchell, Headteacher and trustee. Mr Ian Blake, chairman of the trustee presented the cheques to the students. 

The other member of the trust who attended were, Father Robert Davies, Mr Alan Maddox and Mrs Sue Davies

The students eligible for the grant were:

St John Baptist High School:

Sophie Edmonds   -     Daniel Woodrow-Pritchard  -  Connoe Davies  -  Rebecca Skuse  -  Emily James  -  Sam Green  -  Joanne Hancock

Alesha Sandor  -  Alex Lewis-Ashman  -  Poppy Bissell  -  Matthew Davies  -  Megan Glover  -  Lauren Gratland  -  Thomas Harper

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun:

Abigail Carter  -  Megan Ellis  -  Samantha Evans  -  Emily Falat  -  Rhys Humprhies  -  Morgan Llewellyn  -  Lowri Morgan  -  Seren Morris  

Megan Rowlands  

Aberdare Community School:

Angharad Evans  -  Rhys George  -  Ben Jones  -  Holly Martin  -  Bethan Phillips  -  Dylan Price  -Keiran Sweeden  -  Connor Thomas 

Dylan Trevett

Coleg Morgannwg:

Brandon Shaw




2015 Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywan, Aberdare

2015 Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywan, Aberdare

Students and guests were warmly welcomed to the School by Hywel Price, headteacher and trustee, who handed over to trustee chairman Ian Blake for the presentation of cheques, ably assisted by administrator Andrea Iles.

Mr Blake congratulated all 29 students individually and wished them well in their studies and future careers. Other trustees present at the event were Phillip Walters, Father Robert Davies and Doctor Sue Mitchell.

St John Baptist Church in Wales High School:

 Jenna Davies, Lauren Kerr, Dexter Lee, Lauren Muxworthy, Matthew Rees, Hannah Murray, Thomas Phillips, Thomas Richards, Sam Evans, Alain Fleming, Sian Jones and Charlotte Morgan.

Aberdare Community School:

 Jacob Jones, Owen Howell, Carly Samuel, Aled Keating, Jacob Thomas, Katie Thomas, Abbie Evans, Alys Morgan, Jessica Phillips and Dylan James 

Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun: 

 Taylah James, Rhiannon Burke, Thomas Pike, Samuel Phillips and Lorri-Ann Tilling

Ystrad Mynach College:

 Bethan Evans and Michael Reardon